Main content


Michael Ambühl is a Professor of Negotiation and Conflict Management at the Department of Management, Technology, and Economics of ETH, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich and the Director of the Swiss School of Public Governance.

He studied applied mathematics and management science at ETH and graduated as Dr. sc. techn. ETH.

Following his work as academic assistant, senior assistant and lecturer in the Economics Faculty of the University of Zurich, Michael Ambühl became a member of the diplomatic service of the Swiss Foreign Ministry in 1982. Following engagements in Kinshasa, Bern, and as Head of the Economics Division of the Embassy in New Dehli and member of the negotiation team "Bilateral I Agreements between Switzerland and the EU" in Brussels, he was promoted to Ambassador in 1999, then State Secretary for Foreign Affairs in 2005, and State Secretary in the Finance Ministry in 2010. Michael Ambühl was nominated full Professor of Negotiation and Conflict Management at ETH Zurich in summer 2013.

In his different functions he was a member of the “Swiss-EU Bilateral I”- negotiation team, he led the negotiations of the “Swiss-EU Bilateral II”- agreements (including Schengen), he was facilitator of the Geneva Iran-P5+1 talks, and in the Armenia-Turkey Protocols, signed in Zurich in 2009. He negotiated the Swiss-US UBS-deal, the Tax treaty Switzerland-UK&Austria, the Swiss-US FATCA Agreement and the Swiss-US Tax deal.

From 2000 to 2009, Michael Ambühl lectured in the Law Faculty of the University of Zurich, and since 2010 he has been a permanent guest of honour at the University of Zurich.

Michael Ambühl’s teaching and research at ETH Zurich focuses on the theoretical background of negotiation engineering, different technical and applied negotiation schools of thought, mediation and conflict management, with the practical appreciation of negotiation based on his mathematical background and more than 30 years of experience as a Swiss diplomat and negotiator.

Page URL:
Wed Jun 28 08:58:15 CEST 2017
© 2017 Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich